Patterns: Esa-Pekka Salonen

Patterns: Esa-Pekka Salonen

SF Symphony Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen curates and conducts a SoundBox program.

Patterns build on one another, in a magical and complex dance of design. SoundBox: Patterns looks to the distant past and cornerstones of musical Minimalism to reveal the structure within.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, curator and Music Director

STEVE REICH: ‘Clapping Music’
Esa-Pekka Salonen · Steven Dibner · Bryce Leafman · Stan Muncy · Catherine Payne · Nicholas Platoff · Jessica Valeri, clapping ensemble

ESA-PEKKA SALONEN: ‘Saltat sobrius’: Fantasy upon ‘Sederunt príncipes’ (World premiere)
Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Jonathan Vinocour · Nancy Ellis · David Kim, violas
Amos Yang · Anne Pinsker · Barbara Bogatin, cellos
Scott Pingel · Daniel G. Smith · S. Mark Wright, double basses
Douglas Rioth, harp

ARVO PÄRT: ‘Spiegel im Spiegel’
Chen Zhao, violin
Elizabeth Dorman, piano
Alonzo King LINES Ballet
Choreography by Alonso King
Adji Cissoko · Shuaib Elhassan, dancers

Esa-Pekka Salonen and Members of the San Francisco Symphony

Frank Zamacona, director
Taylor Joshua Rankin, editor
Luke Kritzeck, director of lighting
Adam Larsen, projection designer

Soundbox: Patterns is sponsored by
Margaret Liu Collins & Edward B. Collins
Jerome L. & Thao N. Dodson
William and Gretchen Kimball Fund
Christine & Pierre Lamond
Charles and Helen Schwab Foundation

The world premiere of Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Saltat sobrius is underwritten by
The Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation

SoundBox is supported in part by
The League of American Orchestras and
The National Endowment for the Arts

Patterns: Esa-Pekka Salonen

3 Videos